Brand Spotlight: Cotopaxi “Gear for Good”

Cotopaxi Luzon 18L Daypack

Cotopaxi Luzon 18L Daypack

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I was in the market for a new lightweight daypack.  Initially, I looked into continuing the trend of using Gossamer Gear packs and was looking at the minimalist daypack.  In the end, I wound up going with the cheaper option and buying the Cotopaxi Luzon 18L Daypack.

Here is a general overview of the pack:

– Price: $30. BUT you get 15% off when you sign up for their newsletter so the bag is very affordable.

– Weight as per my scale: 7.1oz. Which I found odd as it was more than 3oz less than what Cotopaxi states online.

– Obviously holds 18L which is a good size for a daypack and I found can surprisingly hold A LOT of gear.

– It is made out of a lightweight nylon which seems plenty strong as a daypack.  The seams are all well done and I noticed no fraying.

– It has thin mesh straps which although will not hold a lot of weight (it shouldn’t have to) they are extremely comfortable when I loaded it up with close to 7lbs of gear.

– The outside zipper is very sturdy and well made. Very impressed. Not waterproof though as far as I am aware.

– Internal hydration sleeve to hold water bladders.

I plan on using the bag extensively as a daypack and as a general bad for use around town as well.  Expect a more in depth review to come. The real thing I want to talk about is the company Cotopaxi.

Cotopaxi Logo - Gear for Good

Cotopaxi operates by the slogan “Gear for Good” and is a company that sells outdoor gear with a purpose – to give back to the world.  Each piece of gear is affiliated to a humanitarian effort that money is raised for.  For instance, the Luzon daypack which I purchased is tied to the Philippine Community Fund is an organization that helps children and their families  that live in extremely poor shantytowns and runs it’s own school to help provide education for underpriveleged children.

Cotopaxi states that by buying one Luzon daypack you are paying for 1 week of education for a child in the Philippine Community Fund program as per their website.

By tying each product to a different organization they are able to provide support to many different fields and geographical areas, all helping people in poverty.

Not only that, but they are also very strict about their manufacturing process using a manufacturer in the Philippines that provides upstanding working conditions and a substantial pay for their employees.

If that wasn’t enough they also offer free returns and have a satisfaction guarantee for all of their products.  The offer a “Human Lifespan Guarantee” of 61 years which is the average lifespan of a person living in the underdeveloped world according to the World Health Organization.

Cotopaxi’s mission is to change the world – you can help be a part of that change.

Gear For Good – Full from Cotopaxi on Vimeo.

Disclaimer: I have no affiliation to Cotopaxi and no relationship with them whatsoever besides being a customer who recently purchased their pack with my own money at full price minus the discount offered from signing up to their newsletter.  They did not contact me in any way and I am under no obligation to write about them at all.  I am only doing so because I support their mission.  

2 thoughts on “Brand Spotlight: Cotopaxi “Gear for Good”

  1. I’m glad you wrote a review on this company! I’d never heard of them before, but seeing that they support so many great organizations it is a company that I will definitely be looking into!

    Like

Leave a Reply

